Getting paid

Arisa81

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
pacificpurple.blogspot.com
Okay, I need a little help here. I have been doing a little proofreading for a woman for a few years now. Until this year things have been good. We are in contact via IM. She IM's me something she needs proofread (usually requiring a lot of changing on my end). I IM her back. We even got to be friendly, she was a super sweet lady. As I type this I have IM'ed her hoping for an answer.

February-August (this year) I did off and on editing for her, always keeping edits I did for her in a file, dated. The monthly bills are often super-small so I don't even send them until a few months go by. Well, now we're up to a bill that goes from Feb-Aug and it's a small, small bill, like seriously. I've sent her an invoice a few times and she's ignoring me completely.

I'm usually a very patient person and I hate someone make me go after them for such a small amount like this, but I'm at a loss because I know I am being ignored.

What do you think I should do?

Words Are My Life

Registered
Reaction score
How are you billing her??

I usually bill my private clients with FreshBooks. It sends out a really professional looking invoice. I usually send out all invoices as soon as projects are complete (all conversations about any edits are over and we have a finished project. It doesn't matter if it's a $25 invoice or a $300 one. The only exception I make is if I am done with a $100 project...and for the same client I have a $25 project that I will finished with in a few days, then I may wait and send it all together.

If you do anything for her in the future, I would send bills as you go even if it is for a small amount. If months pass, even with records, it's hard to keep track of what she really owes you and she could start challenging things.

For now, do you have her phone number? Or any other way to contact her? Maybe try sending an additional email besides the invoice. Good luck!