Acoustic Guitar: Lessons vs. Self Taught?

Pink Ink

girl at heart
Registered
Reaction score
Website
pink-ink-pink.blogspot.com
I have recently rekindled my old love of acoustic guitar. I took group lessons a long time ago, but I actually think teaching myself (as in playing all the songs whose chords I know) right now is doing me more good than all my lessons back then combined. It was like learning piano...I get impatient to play a "real" song. Eventually, my dream is to perform - singing while playing acoustic guitar.

My question to you guitarists:

Did you take lessons or learned on your own? Pros and cons?

the addster

Registered
Reaction score
Website
addiepray.wordpress.com
I didn't take lessons, I taught myself, and learned from friends. Playing with others helped me more than anything.

I do advise folks just taking up guitar to take a couple of private lessons, just to learn the bare basics and avoid bad habits, tuning, basic chord structure, etc. But I'm sure you know all that from the group lessons.

truelyana

Set yourself free
Registered
Reaction score
Website
expressiveworld.com
That is lovely to hear Pink Ink. I think each form has it's own place, and helps in it's own way. I think at the end of the day it's about your enthusiasm and determination for keeping at something that you enjoy doing and if you find that teaching yourself is better all round for you, than keep at it. I have an acoustic guitar and rarely play it now. I don't have the spark for it as such anymore, but am sure one day I shall get back into it. I used to take lessons in high school, and later developed my own love for teaching myself, but with time I've lost that enthusiasm that I once had for it. Perhaps its the patience. I think if I was to take it up again, I would take some lessons to learn the basics, like the addster has said before setting off on my own.

Good luck, and do enjoy!

Let us know how you get on. :)

benbradley

It's a doggy dog world
Registered