Reading your WIP backwards.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wayne K

Banned
Reaction score
Does this really work for finding errors?

If so, is this a possible result?

0511-0809-0313-1607_Crazy_Man_Wearing_a_Straight_Jacket_clipart_image.jpg

Darzian

To-to-to-ron-to
Registered
Reaction score
IMO:

Correct on both counts. I have read sections of my WIP backwards and found faults that I may otherwise have missed. Weird, I know. I guess I tend to 'not see' some errors when reading the normal way.

But reading backwards: :eek: I only did it to certain key parts of the story.

Reaction score
I write erotic romance, so it could turn it into something interesting, watching the happy ending, uh...go back to where it came from.

Wayne K

Banned
Reaction score
I'm rereading this a third time and finding stupid mistakes that I can't believe I missed TWICE!

I'll give it a shot.

katiemac

Five by Five
Registered
Reaction score
I suggested this technique when I was a writing tutor, but that was usually for shorter pieces. I don't think I'd ever start from "the end," though, with an entire manuscript backwards. A couple pages at a time, sure, and maybe chapters at a time.

katiemac

Five by Five
Registered
Reaction score
Does this mean reading it backwards word by word, sentence by sentence, or what? I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around this.

You can do it either way. I think reading backward word-by-word helps catch things like punctuation or spelling errors, but reading backward by sentence works for sentence structure and flow. I think you can also catch the spelling errors reading sentence by sentence, so if I edit this way, I usually go by sentences unless the piece is really short.