Recently Joined Staff of University's Literary Journal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tedium

Le sigh.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Go me, right? Well here is the problem. I have no experience with working in this type of environment. I know college is a learning process and they don't expect perfection(at my uni at least), but I still want to make the best of my time.

I was just wondering if anyone has experience in this area and could give me a few pointers? I am a copy editor on paper, but I am pretty sure I will be taking part in all areas of the magazine due to the small size of the staff.

I can edit copy pretty well(though I'm not always able to produce it :p), so I'm not terribly concerned about that specifically. I'm not even sure what it is I'm trying to ask. What makes a great college literary journal, maybe? Aside from content, of course, which I have no control of and is limited to current students.

I guess anything anyone can say on the topic would be helpful. My internet searches haven't produced much on the topic.

Also, I'm not sure if this is the right board for this post. Feel free to move it if my choice was incorrect.

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
Why don't you talk to the other people on the staff? They'll know exactly what you need to do and what's expected, and every single one of them was in your shoes once, as well. Go in with an open mind and say, "I'm here to learn. What do I need to do?"

Asking questions is the best way to find out anything, and you won't be looked down on for doing it.

Kenzie

Registered
Reaction score