Starting a Writing Club

Status
Not open for further replies.

Uzumaki

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all, still new here. I recently moved into a new area to attend school, and I lack writing buddies. So I was thinking about starting a writing club at my college. I've never done anything like manage a club before, and I wanted to get some feedback from some people who may have. How did your club help or not help you and your writing? Should I invite all types of creative writing, or is that too broad to cover in a club? Only novels? Only fiction novels? Thanks in advance for your help.

JoNightshade

has finally arrived
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ramseyhootman.com
For the purposes of you're question I'm going to assume a writing club is essentially the same as a writing group. If it's not, take whatever works and leave the rest. :)

#1 - Lay down ground rules. This is the most important thing. Come up with a brief document that outlines how people will critique one another, so everyone is on the same page. For instance, is this group mostly about support and encouragement? Or is it more about seriously improving the craft? Neither one is "right," it just depends on what you want from the group. You should also make some guidelines for respecting one another - that critiques need to be constructive rather than insulting or personal. One rule my group has that I really like is that nobody may assume that a particular work is a reflection of the writer's life or beliefs. (For example, if I write a story about a girl who has an abortion, nobody gets to imply or even ask if I've had an abortion.)