Status
Not open for further replies.

Rhush

Slave to the metal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Hi everyone. I am VERY new to this section and could use some help. I have an editor over at Kensington who is interested in taking on my action/adventure novel, but she would like me to pop in two love scenes. One hetro and one lesbian. My question is, how far am I supposed to go with these scenes? Ive heard that "sex scene" doesnt mean "sex manuel" so I get that, but as someone who never reads erotica, Im at a loss here. Does anyone have any useful advice or suggestions as to books I could look over? Thanks!

Carlene

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.carlenedater.com
Hi - I belong to RWA and several of the speakers we've had at monthly meetins say that NY editors want sex scenes and the hotter the better! You might want to ask the Kensington editor how hot she wants them! Read some Harlequin "Blaze" line - they are VERY explicit. Go to some of the RWA writer's websites - they might have excerpts or might even help you. Do you belong to RWA? If there's a group near you, I'd encourage you to go and just visit. You'll be amazed at how much help you get!

Carlene

www.crdater.com

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
I agree. Ask the editor at Kensington which line it's being considered for and ask if there's a book in that line that has similar scenes to the level of sexuality she's looking for. The various lines have different levels.

(BTW -- "erotica" isn't the same as a sexy romance. Whole different creature. I wouldn't go looking for a book that's considered erotica to use as a sample, or Kensington won't want it anymore.)

I'd say something like this:
Dear XXX,