Luvvv scene question

Rhush

Slave to the metal
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Hi everyone. I am VERY new to this section and could use some help. I have an editor over at Kensington who is interested in taking on my action/adventure novel, but she would like me to pop in two love scenes. One hetro and one lesbian. My question is, how far am I supposed to go with these scenes? Ive heard that "sex scene" doesnt mean "sex manuel" so I get that, but as someone who never reads erotica, Im at a loss here. Does anyone have any useful advice or suggestions as to books I could look over? Thanks!

pepperlandgirl

American Aquarium Drinker
Registered
Reaction score
Don't be technical and mechanical. Focus on the emotions that the act evokes, the physical sensations, and the senses. Use all five senses to provide details. Don't use purple prose. If you're going to refer to a c.o.c.k call it a c.o.c.k. If you're too shy to use the real words, than you're not going to be able to write a good scene. Make sure that what your characters are doing is physically possible.

That's general advice. It would be easier to give specific advice if we could see what you've written.

MarkEsq

Clever title pending.
Registered
Reaction score
In the wilds of Texas. Actually, the liberal oasi
Definitely focus more on the lesbian scene, definitely. Probably should have some pictures, too, assuming the characters are hot model-types.

(Note: I am a literary genius not a pervert, therefore take my advice. Take it!!!)

:)

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com