PDA

View Full Version : Need a firearms expert.

Chuck Jones
09-15-2009, 08:47 AM
Okay, I have a few questions for a manuscript I'm working on.

In modern firearms, specifically standard issue police and U.S. Military pistols and rifles, what parts are made of plastic? Could these firearms be easily modified to function without those plastic parts?

Also, going back through time... when was the last time firearms were made that did not require the use of plastics?

quixote100104
09-15-2009, 12:29 PM
Okay, I have a few questions for a manuscript I'm working on.

In modern firearms, specifically standard issue police and U.S. Military pistols and rifles, what parts are made of plastic? Could these firearms be easily modified to function without those plastic parts?

Also, going back through time... when was the last time firearms were made that did not require the use of plastics?

I'm not an expert, but probably pretty recently, including many current production models. Polymer frames have been on the rise since the 1980s when Glock pioneered them, but even then the whole "plastic pistol" thing was a joke; all the innards are steel AFAIK and they show up just fine on xrays and metal detectors.

If a weapon is listed as having a polymer frame/stock, then you'd have to basically rebuild it to make it function without, but all the working parts would still be metal, in most if not all cases. You'd just have to refabricate the frame/stock.

Chase
09-15-2009, 06:47 PM

Chuck,

As Mark posted, barrels and slides are still metal.

Smith & Wesson, Colt, and a host of other gun makers switched from wood to synthetic grips and butt plates as far back as the latter 1800s. After that, small "non-essential" pieces were often molded from synthetics until examples like Remington’s Nylon 66 .22 rifle and Colt’s AR-15 .223 rifle went to "plastic" for most of the stock, as Alleycat said, in the 1960s.