Uterine rupture.

Elegy

Deceptively Horrific
Registered
Reaction score
I know it's rare, but if a woman has a VBAC and her uterus ruptures during the birth, what exactly would the cause of death be? Internal bleeding?

What would a doctor do to try and save her once he realizes what's happening?

Ellefire

Citizen Of Planet Random
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert but I believe an uterine rupture would be treated with a hysterectomy and that death by internal bleeding would be a possibility.

I know that there's info on the net because I researched the same thing as a cause for a hysterectomy, but I don't have any of that research to hand.

GeorgeK

ever seeking
Registered
Reaction score
The bleeding could be internal or external (transvaginal) or both. The pregnant uterus is very vascular. I've never had to take care of a ruptured one, but I wouldn't be surprised if they tried to cross clamp the aorta temporarily, but that wouldn't stop the venous backbleeding. I did have to unobstuct one lady's kidneys whose ureters had both become obstructed by a pelvic hematoma. The OB was happy to find out that he'd not sewn off the ureters while trying to control the bleeding.

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
During the birth of my last daughter a chunk of my uterus came out along with the placenta. My placenta had been incorrectly attached to the top instead of the side causing fluid issues the entire pregnancy. By the time I delivered her the wall was so weak, it had pulled a full chunk out and I bled out badly. My uterus was able to contract enough to close the hole to stop the bleeding after about an hour of work and four and a half buckets of blood. It was a pretty fast bleedout and the hole wasn't huge but it was sizable. I was about one blood pressure point away from having an emergency hysterectomy and blood transfusion. Had I not been just 24 years old he would have gone ahead with the hysterectomy and put me into menopause (stop?).