Not open for further replies.

thethinker42

Abnormal Romance Author
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gallagherwitt.com
Okay, we all encounter odd "you just don't get it" conversations with non-writers, but this one has left a few of my synapses sputtering.

While in the airport the other night, my husband and I struck up a conversation with some other passengers. It came out that I'm a writer, specifically of the romance/erotic romance genres. Then I heard the words that always make my innards clench:

"Well, since you're a writer..."

Oh Lord, here we go...

"...here's what you should write..."

...grant me the serenity...

"...now, most people are too afraid to write something like this, but I think it will work. So..."

...more serenity, STAT...

"...I think you should write a book about your perception of black men." *cue facial expression that says "OMG, isn't this brilliant?"*

Maybe it was fatigue from traveling for almost 24 straight hours, maybe it was just the fact that everyone in the room was staring at me with looks of "yeah, why don't you?", but it took me a second to respond. Finally, I said, "I write fiction, specifically romance, so that really wouldn't be my genre."

This was where things got a bit strange...

He laughed. That smug, knowing "oh, I shouldn't be surprised" laugh. "Well, I thought you might not be like all the other sheep out there, but I guess most people would be afraid to take a risk by writing something like that."

Must. Contain. Rage. "No," I said. "It's not fear, or a risk, or anything of the sort. It's simply outside of my area of writing."

"Well, it would be out of your comfort zone, then-"

"No, I didn't say it was out of my comfort zone. Most writers stick to certain genres-"

"Because they're afraid to step out of the box and write about things that might be that edgy or risky."