Im new at Christian Writing...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

skywriter16

New at this!
Registered
Reaction score
So I've been an aspiring writer for about 4 years now! I've always loved to write but only in these last years have I actually begun to pursue it. At first I loved writing suspense thrillers, like Dean Koontz or Kay Hooper. I have always been a Christian and loved God but recently I was burden that my writing was a fleshy lust and it needed to stop so that I in turn could grow closer to God. I'm new at this genre but I know I want to write! I would love to write books that people enjoy and glorify God at the same time...but I'm struggling...Any suggestions or maybe some words of encouragement..?

DMarie84

I wish I had a time machine
Registered
Reaction score
Website
inthewritemind.wordpress.com
Just start writing! :)

One thing you want to make sure you don't do is make the story preachy...I've read far too many Christian books where the message comes across as little more than a sermon.

Other things to watch out for: make your characters real and flawed. Again, too many Christian books sugar coat real life issues and the book just doesn't work.

Have you read any books by Ted Dekker? He's probably one of the most well known Christian thriller writers out there. Read some of his books (he has quite a few!) and get an idea of the style. You can still write Christian thrillers if that's the genre you're passionate about.

Ardent Kat

Kill your television
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.katherineokelly.com
You can always write "secular" fiction with Christian themes. Dean Koontz (who you mentioned) stands out as a perfect example. He writes for mainstream audiences, but he's not shy about religious themes (like in "The Taking") and having pro-Christian statements, openly Christian characters, and positive faith influences.