Recovery time for bullet wound

dblteam

Registered
Reaction score
For the medical professionals among us...

What would be an ordinary recovery time for a large caliber bullet wound to the thigh? In this case, it's a round from an aircraft nose cannon (20mm), so a *very* large caliber, but it's intended to be a non-life threatening injury. As I've written it, the round slices throught the quad muscle without damaging the character's knee. The character is in the Navy and is supposed to be able to return to active duty after recovering from the injury.

So, I guess my question is twofold: One, is this a reasonable assumption (that someone could recover fully from an injury of this type), and two, how long would it take (and what would be required in terms of physical therapy, etc, to return to normal activity)?

Thanks,

Dblteam

Meantime

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a medical professional, but I do know a bit about military ordnance, so maybe this will help you out a bit.

If person was shot in the leg by a 20mm round, especially in a dense area like the quad, the effects would be devastating. Those rounds are so heavy and travelling at such high velocity that an impact, even a grazing one, would pretty much blow the entire leg off. Plus those shells are semi-explosive and splinter even from grazing impacts (which helps them shoot down other aircraft) so in addition to the impact trauma, you'd be perforated by hundreds of tiny metal spikes. Sorry to be graphic, but even a .50 cal BMG round (12.7mm) will easily cut a human being in half, so you get an idea of what a 20mm shell would do.

A more likely scenario, IMO, would be a near-miss that shot splinters through your character's leg. And from working with the Veteran's Administration, I doubt any armed forces member with the type of injury you're describing would be returning to active duty for a long time, if ever.

Hope this helps.

Last edited:

Gehanna

Introvert
Registered
Reaction score