Finished Twilight: I am curious did Meyers get a lot of editorial help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaLanie1971

Registered
Reaction score
Ok, so I finally broke down and bought Twilight two nights ago. At first I thought I wasn't going to like it because I am 38 and the characters are teens. What would I have in common with teens? Been there done that, right?

However, after casually flipping through the pages, thinking I would put it on my to read pile, I kept reading and finished the book the next day! Let me tell you, I have never done that before.

I am curious now; how does a new writer create a book that is so captivating? I felt like I was there it was so real. Did she really do that all on her own or did the editors give her some help? I am wondering how involved editors get when its a new writer?

What blows my mind is the only time I was pulled out of the book was when someone spoke to me or I couldn't hold my bladder any longer.

I have read all kinds of crazy comments about how bad the Twilight books were, but IMO I was completely captivated or you could even say intoxicated, (Ok, so I'm in love with Edward, shut up!) I think she did a phenomenal job since it had that effect on me. Isn't that what a book is suppose to do?

I am amazed a new writer can juggle so much and it turn out so perfect. Now, I am a little intimidated to write! Please, tell me she had help!

M.R.J. Le Blanc

aka Sadistic Mistress Mi-chan
Registered
Reaction score
Different strokes for different folks, I suppose. It took me two weeks to get through Twilight alone, it just couldn't hold me. And I live for long books, but this one for me was like pulling teeth. I couldn't sit through more than a chapter or two before I had to stop.