Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadow_Ferret

Court Jester
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowferret.wordpress.com
There's a few threads out about overused plots and stories that never grow old that I don't feel qualified to participate in because I have nothing to contribute.

The reason? I don't know how to analyze fiction. Those were the classes that bored me. The ones where you'd read a story then discuss it's meaning, break it down into various components like theme, and whatever else they broke them down into. The courses that analyzed fiction.

I feel that THIS is what is holding me back as a writer, my lack of education as a analytical reader.

Are there any books out there that can teach this?

DeleyanLee

Writing Anarchist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
The classic How to Read a Book.

Classic reference aside, it really depends on WHAT you are analyzing for. Plot? Character? Description? Mood? Tone? Prose? Genre-redefinition? What?

No, there really isn't any book instructing you on the how-to's of analyzing fiction focused on writers' needs (which I think is different than an English major's needs).

What I've figured out to do is really simple: Take a book you think is good at something you want to do well. Own your own copy (at least one). Read it. Every time the book does something really well, highlight the passage. Repeat until you finish reading the book.

Then go back and start reading again. When you hit a highlighted passage, and start questioning. Is the marvelousness in those highlighted words, or are those words just the payoff for the set-up? Find the start of it, look at it. See if you can jot down notes about how it was constructed and what as involved--building tension? increasing stakes? character flaws pushed to explosion? the exact right words that painted the clearest picture ever? What is it?