Anyone re-query an agent/publisher?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryll

Registered
Reaction score
Greetings!

Here's my question: I've been actively looking for an agent for about 4 months now. Out of my pile of rejection slips, I have several who said they liked the premise of my novel but had to decline due to a full roster of clients. One in particular asked me to contact him again in six months if I hadn't found representation by then.

Should I re-query these other agents at some point? How long should I wait? And do I re-word the query letter to mention the agent's comments to me?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Cheryll

smallthunder

Ruled by Dachshunds
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert at mind reading -- rejection, yes/mind reading, no. Nonetheless, my gut feeling is that the "full roster" line is just a nice way of saying "no, thanks." If you haven't substantially reworked your novel -- i.e. improved it per expert suggestions -- I can't see why those agents would change their minds with the passage of time.

The only exception to this, however, is the agent who told you to contact him in six months -- take this man at his word, and do as he says. Definitely remind him at that time that you're resubmitting at his request ...

And be sure to query new agents!

Good luck --

arkady

Registered
Reaction score
I got one of those "please re-query in six months" letters, only in my case it was six weeks. I've re-queried, but haven't yet heard anything back, so I can't tell you if it actually meant anything or not.

As for re-querying agents who haven't specifically requested it, I don't see how it can hurt. I've re-queried agents who rejected my query two years ago. Two "nos" still add up to "no," and there's at least the possibility that one of them could turn into a "yes," especially if your query letter has improved in the meantime.

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website