Am I being underpaid/what can I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Freelance91

I just got a job as an hourly employee writing for a website serving small business owners. Prior to this job, I worked as a newspaper reporter for a quality local weekly paper that paid next to nothing but I gained much knowledge, experience and clips.
When I took this job two weeks ago, $15 an hour seemed so much better than what I was getting, but after doing some checking I realize that many writers doing the same work are getting $50 to $75/hr. In addition, my boss who says I'm a "good writer" just told me that she would prefer that I limit my time for writing a 1000-word piece to about 10 hours (Quality is my number one goal, and sometimes it might take me 16 hours).
Help!!! Is this time constraint reasonable?????
And if things go well on this job, how and when can I increase my pay?
Any feedback on this would be greatly appreciated.

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Well, from my experience in newspapers and magazines, ten hours (actual time) for 1,000 words is a really reasonable amount. Even including interviews and research, mine only take about five to six. Something you might consider doing if your researching is taking up more time than you would like is to increase your typing speed to compensate. Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing is a super software program designed to increase typing speed. If you move from 50-60 words per minute to 80-90 (I personally type at 110), you could fit a lot more research into those ten hours.

IMHO, I think the time is reasonable, but will be interested to see what other people say.

Tish Davidson

Registered
Reaction score