Need some help with psychedelics

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
I have no experience with, and no knowledge of psychedelic substances, but now I kind of need to either find one that suits my purposes, or make one up that has relatively real-life-esque effects.

See, my fantasy world has this bunch of immortal warriors with precognitive powers, and an experienced immortal is teaching a new one the ins and outs of her powers. It occurred to me to have the mentor give the new kid a substance that sort of kick-starts the psychic powers by temporarily messing with the brain chemistry. Kind of like dangerous training wheels. :)

I might also go with intense meditation or sensory deprivation, but can someone recommend a substance that the newbie can either drink or chew to 'see the world differently', or describe the effects of those kinds of things so I can make up my own?

Oh, and it's a pre-industrial world, so the stuff needs to be either natural, or easy to make.

Thanks.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Peyote would be a good choice, except it's indigenous to only North America.

raburrell

Treguna Makoidees Trecorum SadisDee
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.rebeccaburrell.com
Check out Erowid. The section on 'plants and drugs' might be helpful.
eta: Another option besides peyote would be salvia. It can be a pretty rough high (not that I know personally), but it's kindof along the lines of what you are looking for. And does grow naturally over a pretty wide region.

Last edited:

BigWords

Geekzilla
Registered
Reaction score
There is a mold called ergot which might suit your needs, as it exhibits all of the properties of LSD. In small doses it can cause hallucinations, though is associated with nausia, headaches, dehydration and - in cases where a person has overdosed - death. It was suggested as a possible explanation for the hysteria in Salem during the witch trials.

BNET has a page on the subject.