Tell me, am I getting screwed?

amv28

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to this forum and I have to start my 1st post off with a question. Please forgive me if this has been covered elsewhere, but I searched and not too much popped up.

Background:

I am not a writer by trade, however I write a monthly column for a local women's magazine focusing on the topic of what I do for a living in real life. I absolutely love my column and have a great time producing it every month. Here is what is not so great about it:

Not only do I write the column (appx 700 words) I also am the artistic director/ stylist for the photos. In other words: I come up with a topic, write about it and pull together a visual accompaniment to go along with the article. I am on hand for the photo shoot tweaking details etc. Sometimes I even shell out $$ for the stylization and never have asked to be re-imbursed.

Okay. Sooooooo....when I 1st started writing this column, money was never discussed (me being naîve to this and not being a writer by trade, I just assumed that they would throw me a bone) After a few months of busting my butt and not receiving compensation, I inquired about pay. I was told that they would offer me $50 per article. Laughable, I thought! So, I, in hopes of being strategic, I offered a trade i.e. I write the article/stylize and they compensate me in advertising. Nope. They didn't like that idea. Okaaayyy.....so I had to take what I could get.