• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Beta needed for 119,000 word horror novel

Status
Not open for further replies.

simonsteele

Registered
Reaction score
Hello, my name is Simon. Steele isn't my real last name, that's my rock star name for the rock band I never formed.

Anyway I have written a book called Ten Thousand Days (it doesn't take place over the course of ten thousand days, don't worry). I've been writing it since 2001! It has taken on significant changes since then, the central characters and overall idea are all that remains the same.

I want to publish this thing but I have read it and edited so many times I have trouble looking at it now. But it is very close to my heart. It is a fairly violent horror story (but it's not about the violence and it doesn't linger)--a zombie story about fate and redemption. This draft I have now is cut down from 189,000 words. I really like it though some key character interactions have been cut so I hope that doesn't detract from the story.

I'd love it if someone could help me out with this. I am a single father, a teacher, times are tough, and I know this won't fix my problems, but being published is something I have thought about every day of my life since I was 10 years old. I'm 30 now. I've got to make some progress on this.

I need to cut about 10,000 more words at a minimum. I don't think it will be hard, I'm kind of wordy. I also want to make sure the main characters personalities are still strong and the driving force of the novel despite all the cuts I've made.