Exclusive... but for how long?

flotsamarama

Registered
Reaction score
In early February I sent a query letter to 15 agents. Several of them answered with a thanks-but-no-thanks response. One of them quickly responded with a request for sample chapters, and then quickly followed up with a request for the entire manuscript on an exclusive basis. I was happy to oblige. So happy, in fact, that I did not request a time frame for the exclusivity. (I'm new at this.)

In the meantime, a few other agents responded to my original query, expressing an interest in seeing all or part of my manuscript. I answered them by thanking them and explaining that it was being considered on an exclusive basis. I told them I would send them the manuscript if/when I was released from my obligation of exclusivity.

That's the background. My question is this: What is a reasonable time for exclusive consideration? Should I write a follow-up letter to establish an end-date to the exclusivity? It has been three months -- not a long time in this business, I acknowledge, but long enough to make me crazy because other agents have expressed an interest in my book but I can't do anything about it.

Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks.

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Patience, grasshopper.

For a full ms., three months is the bare minimum. However, if you want to hedge your bets, you could send a follow up email to the first agent, asking if they've received it (unless you already know for certain.) Then, when the agent responds, you've got a captive audience -- but don't abuse it. You can say that you've received additional queries and would like to know what the expected turn around time might be, so you can show professional courtesy by notifying the other agents.

The agent shouldn't be offended since it's already been three months.

Good luck!

flotsamarama

Registered
Reaction score
Thank you, Cathy!