Status
Not open for further replies.

PenDragon

Dragon with a Pen
Registered
Reaction score
Website
newadventuresinfantasyfiction.blogspot.com
Any avid Worldbuilders in the house? On my blog I've started a weekly experiment in worldbuilding; something I've never done before. I'm calling it Wednesday Worldbuilding. Today's post is How the Hell do you Bulid a World Anyway. I'd apprecaite some input on the subject from AW's Fantasy (and Science Fiction) writers and Worldbuilders. If you're not into the whole blog thing feel free to answer in this thread.

So the question is . . . how do you worldbuild?

Last edited:

Dale Emery

is way off topic
Registered
Reaction score
Website
dalehartleyemery.com
I fumble around. I notice, as I'm pondering a plot idea or a character, that I have a question about the world.

For example, the community in my current fantasy novel was founded 100 years before the story begins. The settlers emigrated from their country of origin to be free of the religion that pervaded their society. So... what's the religion? My brain chugs away on that question wherever I go.

I was reading a novel that mentioned auroras in passing. Hey, I thought, I could weave a religion around auroras. So now I'm studying auroras in order to identify the key elements of the phenomenon. And my brain is chugging away on the question: What religious principle or practice might map to this fact about auroras? There will surely be colored curtains and flowing robes everywhere.