PDA

View Full Version : I found out recently my career choice is pretty much obsolete. What to do?

underthecity
06-15-2009, 07:31 PM
Not sure if this is an Office Party post or not.

In the 1990s I went to school for broadcast engineering, which at that time, was a hands-on, technical career; and radio stations, I was told, always need engineers.

After the 1990s, radio technology had shifted to computers and IT. I worked as an assistant engineer in radio from 1997 to 2002, after which my job was eliminated when they hired a full time IT guy.

I haven't been able to get back into radio since.

Now, in 2009, ownerships have changed, the economy has changed, and radio is all entirely computer driven, and much of it is automated. Now, instead of one engineer and an assistant being in charge of two or three radio stations, they have one engineer in charge of a cluster of five or more. This isn't entirely new; it was that way a lot in the 1980s, but now it's become much more prevalent and common.

In fact, some places have engineers from one city three hours away be in charge of the sister stations in another market. Unless the station is off the air, the engineers aren't coming.

So, I guess my gripe is that today there's no chance of my ever working in radio again. Local engineering staffs are locked up, and I heard that cutbacks have forced some companies to let some of their engineers go.

Looking back, I see that it was a mistake for me to major in this field, but at the time, I wanted to work in radio. I spent the past two and a half years as a machine wiring technician, but I lost that job in January due to the economic slump.

My career choice is obsolete. It's kind of depressing.

Wayne K
06-15-2009, 07:47 PM
Just publish a book and get rich. Duh!

skelly
06-17-2009, 04:16 AM