• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Questions on Writer/Beta Etiquette

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Website
jehkeh.net
Hi! Um, I'm new here, so firstly if this is in the wrong place please move it for me, mods! I wasn't exactly sure where a thread like this would go.

Secondly, this question requires a bit of backstory, so please bear with me.

Now, onward: I have been writing my novel since February of 2007. I only have three chapters done! A lot of this is because the original concept was terrible and I spent a lot of time reworking ideas and stuff, but some of it was because I lacked a critic - a single reader, even, who had real knowledge of the art of writing. I'm sure we all know how nice it is to hear from someone, "Hey, it's really good, and I want to read more." But if that's all we ever hear, how can we improve? I won't go on and on about how great it is to have a beta; I should think most of us know that already. My point is I've been looking for one who could really get involved with me for a long time; I've been aching to have someone to bounce ideas off of.