Posted in Blog Means Published?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thewritegirl

Registered
Reaction score
I wasn't sure where to post this.

I have read conflicting opinions about blog posts. So, thought I'd ask here.
If you posted something on your blog-- is it considered published?

Wayne K

Banned
Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but I would vote No.

I consider being published an acceptance of some kind. A deal whereby I'm selling my writing.

AnonymousWriter

Registered
Reaction score
I am not an expert, either. This is just my opinion.

I'm swinging towards Yes. If the writing is on view to public eye then I would consider that published.

Wayne K

Banned
Reaction score
I can start my own blog and post something, and then consider myself published?

AnonymousWriter

Registered
Reaction score
It seems to me that the OP is wondering if they can submit a piece to a publisher (short story, article, whatever) if they have it on their blog.

It would seem strange of the publisher to print their work, and expect people to pay for it when the writer has made it available online for free.

Wayne K

Banned
Reaction score
Then I'm not reading the question right.

dgrintalis

'Tis true, she is a monstergirl
Registered
Reaction score
Betwixt a nightmare and a veil of shadowy dark
Anonymous, I think that's what the OP is asking, IMO.

And I agree with your response. I posted a short story on my blog, then some of my fellow horror writers told me I should send it out into the world, so I pulled it off my site right away.

thewritegirl

Registered
Reaction score
It seems to me that the OP is wondering if they can submit a piece to a publisher (short story, article, whatever) if they have it on their blog.

That's, pretty much, what I was asking. I had a poem that I had put up on my blog, but have removed. I was wondering if it would be considered previously published, since it was on my blog ( though not for long ).

AnonymousWriter

Registered
Reaction score