• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Wanted: A Fantasy Genre Mentor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daxos

Take my advice - I'm not using it
Registered
Reaction score
I am a fantasy genre writer looking for a solid mentor who can help me grow and learn. I was "labeled" as a "gifted" writer at the age of ten and was subsequently tested into a Program for Gifted Students. In retrospect, this was detrimental to my writing abilities. The Program was for high IQ students; it was not a workshop to really hone or develop any of our various gifts, but merely a place for other intellectuals to congregate and avoid the boring task of "regular" academic studies. However, the thoughtless adulation showered upon my work while I was growing up did nothing but encourage me to write purple prose and in the process stymied the development of some of the more important components of story telling.

As a consequence, I write more as though I were "seeing" everything in a movie than establishing all of the important ingredients of writing from a POV character.

I'm not sure if I'm going about this the right way as I am new to messageboards but I thought I would go ahead and at least toss this out there to see who's willing to take a bite.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Daxos

Registered
Reaction score
If there are even any half-interested parties out there, let me know what I need to do to sweeten the pot. Personal specs? Writing samples? Money?

I can do all of the above and then some. :D