PDA

View Full Version : -sigh-

PoppysInARow
06-04-2009, 01:07 AM
SO I got my rejection today. Waited six weeks, heard nothing, poked the agent, turns out he didn't have my ms, so I sent it again. Three days later I get a rejection.

I was hoping for at least a little criticsm. He said I was a talented writer and all that BS, but no actual criticism to work off of. To know what's wrong with the damn thing.

So I'm feeling kind of disheartened. I want to get back in the game and query twenty more agents, but I don't really have the heart. It sucks. I wanted the rejection to fuel me, but all it did was make me feel horribly lathargic. Any tips for getting back on the horse? :cry:

Red-Green
06-04-2009, 01:12 AM
Do it. No one will ever represent you if you don't query them. That's the only motivation that exists. If you want an agent, you must query. Go!

And sorry for the rejection. I know they sting, but there are only two kinds: useful and useless. If it's a useful rejection, use it. If it's not, ignore it.

alias octavia
06-04-2009, 01:15 AM
Take a day to wallow if you want, but then get back to querying. I find sending the snail mail version feels very cathartic.

Karen Duvall
06-04-2009, 01:21 AM
I was hoping for at least a little criticsm. He said I was a talented writer and all that BS, but no actual criticism to work off of. To know what's wrong with the damn thing.

I don't know if it will help, but this right here is the key to getting over the post-rejection blues. Want to know what's wrong with the damn thing? NOTHING! :) Really. Who says this one individual's subjective opinion is the end all, be all of anything? Pfffft. The next agent you query could be totally swept off his or her feet with your brilliance. Honest. So give it another shot or twenty. You know you want to. :D

Toothpaste
06-04-2009, 01:23 AM