Expert on diets/eating disorders needed!

backslashbaby

~~~~*~~~~
Registered
Reaction score
More info, please :)

I had an eating disorder, which can be useful for a character that has one. I'm not in the field or anything, and what I know about diet is not abouts diets. The big D word is not allowed, as you might imagine :)

Don't know if that's what you are looking for, but there it is.

Maiden

Registered
Reaction score
I have suffered from a couple eating disorders, and my best friend has the opposite of what I had.

I also have spent time with nutritionists and diet experts.

You might try just posting the question/questions you have and see what kind of insight you can get. Usually if no one knows they can help point you in the right direction.

daehedr

Registered
Reaction score
I work as a volunteer with the Food and Nutritional Sciences Department in the University where I work. My thesis was on Fat is a Feminist Issue and I do a lot of research around eating disorders, obesity issues, bariatric surgeries and dietary issues for diabetes if that helps at all.

Faith

spamwarrior

rewriting.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
acurrentundersea.wordpress.com
Thanks a lot for the responses! ;)

The questions i had were;

1. What do you think of the current hype on diets? Everywhere you look there's talk about diets, etc.

2. Do you think this puts pressure on people to compare themselves to an "ideal"?

3. For people who have struggled with eating disorders, what pressures did you feel? (i.e. pressure to be perfect, live up to someone's standards, make someone happy, etc)

4. If you have recovered/are recovering, what made you decide to do so?

5. Is anyone familiar with the pro-ana/mia sites that are up on the web? If so, what is your take on those?

Thanks for your time!

Maiden

Registered
Reaction score