world building software for macs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Madison

summertime...
Registered
Reaction score
(Two disclaimers: not sure if roundtable is the best forum for this - and I already searched the archives but didn't come up with anything)

I spent way too much time today trying to find free world building software downloads online - and came up with nothing that's both free and Mac OS compatible. Mostly what I'm looking for is a simple program like autoREALM or CC3 (Campaigner something?) but for/compatible with Mac OS: a program that can create maps (not necessarily anything else) for fantasy worlds.

Yep, it's mostly procrastination. My time would be better spent actually writing about the world... But I really think it would help organize things in my mind, too - and give me a better visual picture.

So: the question is does anyone know of such a program? (besides plain old pencil/paper, haha. I am not an artist, not even good at stick trees and triangle mountains)

Madison

summertime...
Registered
Reaction score
So... apparently no one knows.

But just in case someone who does happens to come along sometime soon, I am going to bump this thread back to page one.

:)

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha
The best world-building software is always going to be between the writer's ears.

It is not easy to figure out what makes a world tick. Much of the time economics run things. A greedy king doesn't want to repay money he owes to a rich banking consortium, so he partners up with a religious leader to accuse the bankers of heresy. Before you can say Knights Templar, we've got generations of people afraid to leave the house on the 13th.

On the surface, a "simple" thing like economics may seem boring, but it's all part of the gestalt!