Cover letter -- how much information?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Solatium

Registered
Reaction score
I know cover letters have been dealt with before, but I have rather a specific question. I'm planning to submit a story to this anthology, which apparently requires a cover letter; I've never written one before. It's this bit that bothers me:
In your cover letter, briefly introduce yourself and mention the commandment your story is about.

"Introduce yourself" is easy: "Hi, I'm Sara, I'm a fictionist, and I haven't published anything worth mentioning." (More genteely phrased, of course.)

But what about the "which commandment" bit? Can I just say, "My story is about the second commandment, thank you, sincerely yours"? I'd like to get away with writing as short a letter as possible, but how short is too short? Is a two- or three-sentence cover letter okay, or am I expected to synopsize the story or otherwise "say more"?

Tish Davidson

Registered
Reaction score
I'm assuming from your post that this is a Christian or possibly Jewish publisher.

This is a great opportunity to interest the editor in your story by showing how it relates to the second commandment by saying something about how the main character is involved in a conflict that in some way illustrates the core of the second commandment and the choice the main character has to make (hard to write a more concrete sentence without knowing what the story is about, but I hope you get the idea). All you need is a sentence or two, but you want something that will make the editor look at your story.

And a fictionist? I've never heard a fiction writer referred to this way. And don't shoot yourself in the foot by mentioning that you haven't published anything much. If you haven't, just keep quiet about it - no need to discourage the editor before she reads you pieve. If you have any religious/ theological education or credentials that might lend credibility to your writing, do mention that.

VOTE_BOT