Silence = Rejection?

funtastic50

Registered
Reaction score
Does everyone agree that silence equals rejection? How many times do you prompt an agent before you give up?

An agent requested my full in Feb, I prompted for a response in March, she told me she had to put it down reluctantly to work on something else and would be in touch the following week, she wasn't. I sent her another email in April - and I haven't heard anything back. Should I just forget about her?

I am still querying, flicking those letters out left right and center.

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
You jumped the gun. One month is WAY too soon to be nudging for responses. A May nudge would have been closer to normal.

funtastic50

Registered
Reaction score
Even though she's had it since Feb? That's three months now.
What'll I do?

nitaworm

AW Addict
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a pro, but I would keep sending my stuff out. I'd give a nudge though...

scope

Commonsensical Maverick
Registered
Reaction score
If it's really bugging you send her another SQ. You have nothing to lose. If it's a no, it's a no, but you never know.

CACTUSWENDY

An old, sappy, and happy one.
Kind Benefactor
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
I don't want to spill good milk after bad...or rain on your parade or anything..........but sometimes it takes them months and months and months. I know that is not what you want to hear.....but keep sending it out. (Oh, and good luck with your work.)

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
It isn't a rejection until she says so.
I've had agents take over a year over my full manuscript. You have no idea what is going on in her office/life - her assistant may have just left, her mother may have got sick, her biggest selling client could have had a crisis. Any of these things could have prevented her from getting to your manuscript.