PDA

View Full Version : Books about sequels?

Madison
05-11-2009, 08:15 PM
I'm planning a nice little trilogy and I want to get a book (or two or five) on the art of writing sequels. I've never written a series before so I want to do it right the first time around.

Any good books on sequels/series that anyone can recommend?

*thanks*

Sargentodiaz
05-11-2009, 10:51 PM
I know this may sound stupid, but try a Google search on sequels.

seun
05-11-2009, 11:05 PM
Before you go looking for books about sequels or start writing, bear in mind a couple of things.

Do you have enough story to write a trilogy's worth? Would each book stand alone as well as developing the overall story? Or would you be filling parts to take up space before the climax?

And as for getting it right first time, forget that idea. Nobody gets it right first time. Write your first draft (of the first book if you're still going to do a trilogy) and get that one as close to perfect as you can before you start the second. In fact, forget about the second or third until the first is totally done.

ChaosTitan
05-12-2009, 03:14 AM
I honestly can't say I've ever seen a writing book specifically about sequels.

I have a print out of sequel hints that I found on a website a few years ago. I wish I could remember which site it was, but alas. Like lvcabbie said, do a Google search. You'll likely find better information that way, than in a book.

Matera the Mad
05-12-2009, 06:56 AM
I don't think most trilogies/zilogies/whatever are planned, they just grow. The characters and their world continue to provide inspiration (and reader enthusiasm), and the writing goes on. Trilogizing from the beginning is common among pretentious beginners. No point in it if the first book flops.

emilycross
05-12-2009, 12:03 PM