How to handle contributions from writers???

MikeB

This is probably a very unique situation. Any advice would be greatly apprciated. I am a photographer who is working on a travel photography book. I have an editor who is recruiting writers to contribute original essays that will compliment my photography. We do not yet have a publisher but we do have an agent (The agent cannot submit our project to potential publishers until we can show some samples of the essays). To further complicate matters, most of the contributing writers live outside of the U.S.(in third-world countries). The contributing writers will be paid a one-time rate, their payment will not be based on a percentage of sales.

Should we create individual contracts for each writer?

Do we pay the writers out of our own pockets until we have a publisher?

Do we pay the writers only after they have submitted the final draft?

Do we pay the writers only if their work makes it into the book?

Do we wait and let the publisher decide how much the writers shall be paid?

This is my first visit to this board as I am not a writer. But I want to treat these writers fairly so that is why I seek your advice. If I have posted this question in the wrong area perhaps someone can guide me to the correct area.

Thank you all in advance for your help.

Mike

mommie4a

Mother of All Addictions
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jillmillerzimon.com
No answers but you have a cool project

Have you checked out information on how anthologies are put together? There's a site called www.anthologiesonline.com and maybe you could find some links to info there.