PDA

View Full Version : When did you (or will you) start calling yourself a WRITER?

Barb D
05-06-2009, 07:38 PM
When did you (or will you) start calling yourself a writer? You can choose more than one option.

Mr. Anonymous
05-06-2009, 07:55 PM
Already started. At this point, aside from college kid, it's the only thing I've really got to identify myself with.

selkn.asrai
05-06-2009, 07:56 PM
I still haven't and probably won't for a long time. I have my reasons.

Clair Dickson
05-06-2009, 08:16 PM
When I started writing stories. So, about third grade.

citymouse
05-06-2009, 08:18 PM
To me a writer is one who makes a living writing while an author is one who has penned / typed or otherwise set down a written work.
All writers are authors but not all authors are writers.

I'm an author. My goal is not to be a writer as defined above, although I do like royalty checks. So does my IRS agent!
C

WendyNYC
05-06-2009, 08:23 PM
I still consider myself an aspiring writer. I'll call myself a writer when I get a book deal.

I don't know what my agent considers me, aside from a client.

JamieMT
05-06-2009, 08:42 PM
I picked "when I started making a living..." - though I haven't yet, so it's wishful thinking. For now, I call myself a "hobby writer", mainly for semantic reasons. When people ask "So, what do you do?" they're asking what I do for a living, not what I do in my spare time, or on the side. My answer to that in the literal sense has to be "I'm a webmistress", because that's what pays the bills. My answer to "what do you like to do/what are your hobbies" includes writing.