PDA

View Full Version : Why Did I Do It?

astonwest
05-02-2009, 02:55 AM
I'm not sure why...but I did. (and I have no idea if this is where this thread needs to go)

Tomorrow is my first ever book reading. I get extremely nervous at reading in public, as I don't have the voice for it and (especially with my own work) always think the words sound weird. Then, there's the added excitement of having a bunch of people staring at you at the same time.

I've picked out a few excerpts that will hopefully sound exciting (aside from the lack of a proper reading voice), and plan to have some time after the reading for any discussion. But as this is my first time, I don't know if there should be more involved.

Any thoughts or suggestions for helping out the nerves (other than heavy drinking), or general book signing tips?

((It doesn't help, either, that I think I'm coming down with a cold... :( ))

Susie
05-02-2009, 03:06 AM
First congrats on the first book reading, bet you'll do great. You know the old standby. Picture them in their underwear and you won't be nervous. :) Bet you'll do great and feel good! ((((((HUGS))))).

Millicent M'Lady
05-02-2009, 03:13 AM
I remember, when I used to sing competitively, that I went through a phase of getting extremely nervous when I got up and would have full-on shaking voice and hands. I had never suffered with nerves before this.

This only happened when I got to my teens (even though I had been doing it since I was seven). Upon thinking about it later, I came to the conclusion that this was about the same time as other people's approval became important to me. Because I cared how I would be received, I started to become stressed which led to the panic and stage fright. As a kid, I was not well-liked among my peers and consequently did not give a fiddler's f*** about whether they liked me or not. I sang for myself to the exclusion of everyone else in the room.