PDA

View Full Version : Tax return first year (UK)

incognito
04-29-2009, 10:46 AM
This year I have to fill in a tax return for non-writing reasons. I'm wondering whether I should including my writing business - the catch is, I've made no money!

I used to work as a freelance writer about ten years ago, then went into PAYE. Now I'm doing a mixture of PAYE and writing a novel which I hope to sell (yeah, right!). Since starting back along this track, I've been keeping a note of all writing expenses (trains to writers workshop etc). Should I put them all down in this year's tax return so I can carry the loss forward in the hope I will actually sell a book? Or should I wait until I make money in a future tax year and put in a couple of years expenses all in one go?

Filling in tax forms is never fun - I'd have to work out annoying things like expenses for use of home, claiming for computers etc - but if I have to fill in a tax return anyway, should I really tell the tax office about my writing now?

Please note, I am in the UK.

Ms Hollands
04-29-2009, 01:54 PM
Euch. Tax. The good news is that if you have a business that's running at a loss, the government have announced a package that allows more tax breaks for loss-making businesses. Regardless, you should be able to offset your expenses against your business and reduce the annual tax you pay for non-writing work.

Of course, you have set up the business, right? So the UK government know about it, right? If not, then I'm not sure how you could claim any expenses and I'd recommend seeing an accountant to maximise your benefits, and to find out what to do about your loss-making business. I went to a local small business advisory office when I lived in Cambridge and they were really great in helping me set up a business. Good luck with it!

Jaycinth
04-29-2009, 03:02 PM
I'm sure the UK has a website like the IRS that answeres every question.