PDA

View Full Version : First Timer

MeganRebekah
04-16-2009, 04:29 PM
In my recent trolling around the internet I found a recommendation to join the Writer's Water Cooler, so I moseyed on over here and anonymously observed conversations while waiting for my account to be activated (not sure why but it took 3 days to activate).

I am new to online writers world, so bear with me! I'm also new to the blog world, over at meganrebekahblogs.blogspot.com

I am currently working on my first novel, Anomaly. Here's a brief synopsis:

A seventeen year foster child with insatiable curiosity and a strong sense of independence, Lina Marshal uses logic and reason to maintain control of her life. Then her foster mother unexpectedly gets married and sets off a chain of unpredictable events. Trying to get a grip on her new life, Lina must contend with a startling kiss from a mysterious boy that stirs up irrational feelings, the dissection of a dead cat in Anatomy, and riding lessons on a horse named Sweet Tea. What little normalcy she establishes is eradicated during an unexpected encounter with a gun-wielding hobo in the forest.
Now Lina and her group of friends, all current and former foster children, begin to develop strange new abilities. Reluctant to call themselves heroes, the teens refer to themselves as anomalies. While excited to show-off their new skills, an unanswered question haunts their every move – what could have triggered such unique and unheard of talents?
Hoping that their backgrounds can provide answers to that nagging question, the friends each research their personal histories. Lina can only trace her beginnings back to the age of two – when she was abandoned in a flea market parking lot. She soon discovers that everything in her life can be traced back to her biological father. Though she’s never laid eyes on him – at least, not that she’s aware of -- he seems to be responsible for every single event in her life: the good, the bad and the extraordinary.