PDA

View Full Version : Brutal BETA with spiked club wanted

colealpaugh
04-04-2009, 07:04 AM
I need a favor...I suppose the most straightforward thing to do is just toss the situation right out in the middle of the ring:

I recently completed my first 83k word work of commercial fiction. Kind of a dark humored 'fictionalized memoir'---it's loosely based on my career as a war correspondent. My background is twenty or so years of journalism and fiction is a new world for me. Just after I'd finished the first draft over a year ago, I sent out a lousy e-query to 100+ agents and was rejected 100+ times. After finishing a third---and what I consider final---rewrite of the MS, I got serious about a proper query and mailed out 20 with very low expectations in the last two weeks. From those 20, I got three requests for fulls and two requests for partials (none are for exclusives and all were for email attachments). All from absolute top shelf, primo agents.

Okay, so with the guidance of some terrific web sites, I seem to have the ability to write a catchy query letter. Such a talent is worth roughly ZIP if the MS is crap. Am I right, or am I right?

So I jumped back into the pool and have been charging ahead with a new WIP. Ha, I say, let them reject that old piece of trash...eh, yeah well the piece of trash that was my life and blood for nearly two years.

But before I get the fully expected five heart crushing rejections, I'm looking for a beta to give me a brutal assessment of the first three chapters totaling just 5k words.

The work contains language (eh, some is bad), mild sexual situation (eh, some feeling up in the back seat), and drug use (hey, Obama and Bush did blow so don't judge).

No spell/grammar checks, just an overall "Dude, I don't get it", or "Man, the standards for newspaper writing must really be freakin' low". This would come from a beta who is not warm and fuzzy and would know I'll love them no matter how ugly they get.