Looking for a translation into French.

Adam

Not dead.
Registered
Reaction score
It's been ten years since I studied French, and I don't trust Babelfish. :D

If someone could give me translations for the following sentences, I'd be a happy bunny.

"Sorry sir, we've just closed for the night. You'll have to come back tomorrow."

And

"I'm looking for a man named..."

Any help will be met with praise, an animated cake, and some rep. ;)

Adam

Not dead.
Registered
Reaction score
How formal are the questions? I'm guessing both questions are put to strangers? I'll ask my French other half later on when I see him.

Ah, yes, forgot that bit. :)

They are spoken politely to strangers, so very formal.

Thanks.

Ms Hollands

Cow lover
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lefrancophoney.com
Here we go:

Désolé Monsieur, on vient juste de fermer pour ce soir. Il faudra revenir demain.

("ce soir" is actually "tonight" or "this evening" rather than "the night" which would be "la nuit", but isn't used in the same way in French)

Je recherche quelqun qui s' appelle...

Adam

Not dead.
Registered
Reaction score
Wonderful, thanks! :D

Here's your cake - :Cake: - Be sure to share it with your other half!

CarolSanDiego

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.carolcallicotte.com
Here we go:

Désolé Monsieur, on vient juste de fermer pour ce soir. Il faudra revenir demain.

("ce soir" is actually "tonight" or "this evening" rather than "the night" which would be "la nuit", but isn't used in the same way in French)

Je recherche quelqun qui s' appelle...

For the second one, I'm pretty sure it's: Je cherche quelqu'un qui s'appelle...

The verb rechercher is more for research, whereas chercher would be used "to look for."

Adam

Not dead.
Registered
Reaction score
Argh, conflict! :)

I have absolutely no idea either way, so I'm at you people's mercy. :D

CarolSanDiego

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.carolcallicotte.com
So sorry to raise conflict.