If my MC punches a mirror...

lm728

i'm baaaacccckkkkkk
Registered
Reaction score
...will she get anything more than a few bloody knuckles in need of stitches?

If the mirror is a hanging wall mirror like this:

juicy_couture.jpg

Will the whole mirror, frame and all, fall to the ground?

Thanks.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
A mirror that size would probably be mounted to the wall, rather than merely hung, so it wouldn't fall. However, it's your story and you can have it any way you want; if you want it to fall, have it hung. It would take a pretty good hit just to break it with a fist.

I don't think someone would get stitches for cuts on their knuckles. I think it would be mostly likely be some cuts and scraps to the skin only (in other words, not a flesh wound). I'm no medical expert however.

Linda Adams

Soldier, Storyteller
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.linda-adams.com
Don't forget that if the mirror is hanging on a wall or against the wall, the person is also hitting the wall. A school friend once got angry and punched a wall. She broke her hand and had to wear a special splint while it healed.

Tsu Dho Nimh

Registered
Reaction score
...will she get anything more than a few bloody knuckles in need of stitches?

If the mirror is a hanging wall mirror like this:

Will the whole mirror, frame and all, fall to the ground? Thanks.

The mirror is backed up by a solid wall. If she punches it hard enough to break it, she will fall to the ground, clutching her hand with the broken metacarpals (the long bones between knuckles and wrists). Usually the little finger is the one that gets broken.

It's called a "drywall fracture" in many ERs because guy gets drunk, gets mad, punches the wall, busts up the hand. Also known as "boxer's fracture" and brawler's fracture.

http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&q=metacarpal fracture&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&tab=wi has pictures.

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels