Passport Question

Alvah

Life is what you make of it.
Registered
Reaction score
Up until a few years ago, a driver's license was enough to allow
a person to cross the Canadian - U.S. border, but that's no longer true.

I have heard that now if a U.S. citizen goes to Canada without a
passport, just a driver's license, he or she will have difficulty getting back
into the United States. Does anyone know from experience what happens
if you are in Canada and don't have your passport? What happens at the
border? How does such a person ever get back in the U.S.?

Has this happened to anyone here?

Thanks,

Seaclusion

Absolute Parsley
Registered
Reaction score
I know you are asking a serious question, and I have no firsthand knowledge of what happens if you don't have a passport. I figure you'd probably get sent to Guantanamo.

Richard

Seaclusion

Absolute Parsley
Registered
Reaction score
Canada isn't anal about letting U.S. citizens into Canada. It's only the U.S. that's worried about letting it's own citizens back into the country.

Richard

Alvah

Life is what you make of it.
Registered
Reaction score
How would they get into Canada without a passport in the first place?

Yes, as Seaclusion implied, you don't need a passport to go from the
U.S. into Canada; you just need one to get back into the States.

I am concerned about this because I have a relative, a teenage
girl, whose boyfriend will soon move to Canada.
Her parents have warned her about the passport issue, but since she's a teenager, I'm worried she will do something foolish.

Aschenbach

Moral Marjorie
Registered
Reaction score
I am concerned about this because I have a relative, a teenage
girl, whose boyfriend will soon move to Canada.
Her parents have warned her about the passport issue, but since she's a teenager, I'm worried she will do something foolish.

This sounds more like a "live issue" than a writing/research question. If I were you I would call the relevant immigration/customs departments.