How's it going for those of you who write for mags.?

Nancy

Masquerading as normal...
Registered
Reaction score
I'm happy for those of you who are having success writing for content sites, blogs and Examiner. But I was wondering how those of you, like me, who write primarily for magazines are doing?

I've been somewhat sidelined by a family member's illness since Jan., so haven't pitched much outside of my comfort zone/reliable repeat editors.

How are you guys doing?

MamaLou

Banned
Reaction score
If I can sell an article, I get paid fairly on-time, but I'm having problems getting responses to pitches. I am primarily a travel writer, which was really good for me a year ago, but with all the print edition lay offs, I think the market is getting glutted with freelance writers right now. I figure it'll take a few more months to separate the wheat from the chaff.

(Meaning, as freelancers, we're all used to picking up work where we can whereas people who would normally work for a newspaper might not be able to "stick it out" when it comes to irregular paychecks and they will be leaving the freelance market for more timely paychecks.)

Also, I was contacted by a place in West Virginia that needs a sports writer for a new website devoted to high schools and their sports programs. I took this as a good sign that my name is getting out there enough to be noticed by a high school in West Virginia.

Last edited:

twnkltoz

Registered
Reaction score
I'm doing OK, but I mostly write for small regional mags. Most of my work is for mags that assign me regular work, but I'm getting a query accepted here and there. I don't send out near enough!

JenNipps

Have you JHS today?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jenifernipps.com
I'm getting ready to send in my on-spec article for WRITERS Journal. Other than that, I have a lot of queries out, but not much coming in yet. I'm going under the assumption that no news is good news. :)

dwrite

Registered
Reaction score