When the author lies about his background

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueLucario

Blood Elves FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I was at a seminar today, and this author was bragging about lying about his background. He was thinking of telling readers that he was 14 years old. He wanted to mark his next book "National Bestseller" when his book isn't really a bestseller. He decided to make up quotes and claim them to have been written by well respected agencies such as "New York Times". He decided to have his friends make multiple Amazon accounts to make positive reviews about his book.

He's implying that he's that freaking desperate to give his books attention. I don't know this dude's name or what book he has written. I told him I'm also an author and he has even suggested this to me.(Tell the readers you're 13.)

I want to ask if this is even possible. And I'm not going to do what he did.

dethnyte

Wild-Eyed Acolyte
Registered
Reaction score
Well, he's not going to get very far, unless he self-publishes, since agents are pretty stringent about wanting an honest relationship. Plus the legalities of lying about things will come around to bite him, I imagine, pretty darn quick. He's heading for heck in a hand basket and there won't be much to salvage his reputation once he's done this to himself.

I feel sorry for the guy. He's ruining his future as a writer (if he ever had one to begin with) and doesn't even know it. There are no short-cuts to success.

Just my two cent's worth.

Mr. Anonymous

Just a guy with a pen & a delusion
Registered
Reaction score
When the author lies about his background, it'll get out, probably sooner rather than later, and then the author will be waist high in shit.

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha
:editor's hat on:

It's been tried.

It doesn't work.

Editors and agents are on to this, and it is called fraud.