Employment debate...

KikiteNeko

Registered
Reaction score
Since losing my (temp) job last month, I have been exploring two avenues of employment (besides writing, of course): Nannying, and office work.

I've never BEEN a nanny but I have a lot of experience with kids. I've been pooped on, vomited on, you name it. The first time I held my cousin's new baby, he was like "BLARGH!" on my sweater. There are seven kids under age five in my family, and I spend a lot of time with two of them in particular. Anyway. I had a nanny interview last week and I really liked the family. The kids were sweet and the mother seemed like she'd be great to work for. She told me that she is still interviewing and will let me know either way, which I understand.

I have also been applying to office work, since I have about 4 years experience in that field. I'm a fast typist, have a lot of experience with faxes, photocopiers, arranging schedules, preparing documents, and dealing with really hectic busy days. The thing is, while I'm experienced here, I HATE office work. I just hate it.

I had a phone interview last week for an office that is right here in my town, and I just got a call to come in for another interview with them on Friday. This place offers a really good healthcare package and only a 4-day workweek, but they pay levels it out.

I'm looking to move out of my mom's house right now, and the only puzzle piece left is stable employment. I couldn't move out while I was temping because, as you can see, they can let me go whenever they're done with me.

So here's my dilemma: