Marketing?

SnowOwl

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.livejournal.com
I'm working on my non-fiction proposal, and I have a quick question for you lovely ladies and gents.

What do you like to see in the marketing section? Do you have high or low expections? What should every wannabe-successful writer include?

For instance, I've heard it's a good idea to offer to pay for 50% of the costs for a book tour. However, at this point I don't have any idea what my advance might be like. Let's be honest -- when I'm not writing, I work in a restaurant. I live from one day's tips to the next. I really have no idea whether I'd have the means to shell out 50% of the costs for a book tour (I don't even know how much that might cost).

Any and all advice is much appreciated!

mreddin

Dreamer
Registered
Reaction score
I came across similar advice SnowOwl, and as I prepare for the query process myself, that subject is weighing on my mind.

My concern is that making such a commitement may do little more than demonstrate my lack of knowledge in the field of publishing. I am coming at this problem from the perspective of first investigating self publishing. I was aware of pre-publication reviews, galley and ARC copies, catalogues and the like. As a typical author with a real imprint, you would never be expected to bare those expenses nor would you need to do them for yourself. We also know from statistics placed on the "Neverending Thread" that print and radio ads and even post-publication reviews garner little attention to the bookreading public. So offering to take out ads will not impress an agent or editor either.

Here is a link to Jim's response to my question about how he participates in the marketing of his books.

http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?p=215064&highlight=marketing#post215064