Questions about Words & Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaybeThisTime

Perpetual noob
Registered
Reaction score
This company has advertised on craigslist for freelance textbook writers/editors. In response to my resume, I received a "we'd love to hire you" email last week. Today I received a "but first you have to send us this background check form and it will take at least a week for us to get the report."

At no time have they asked for a writing sample or even a reference.

Identity theft? Sham company? Paranoia on my part?

Reaction score
I have no experience with applying to writing jobs on Craigslist, but I have enough experience keeping tabs on the job market in my area on that site to tell you in general to be extremely careful of any post on Craigslist. Since it is a free site it's a nest for scam artists. Personally, I would be very nervous about providing anyone from CL with a background form unless they had a local office and I had met them in person. I won't claim to have any meaningful experience as a published writer, but I'm at a loss as to why a writer would need to complete a background check in the first place and to me it seems real fishy that they didn't ask for a writing sample. Just my .02.

MamaLou

Banned
Reaction score
I concur with Chris

I would be REALLY leery about this. I would also let the "people" contacting you that you are leery about this, perhaps something more could be done to confirm they are who they say they are? Google the name of the company to see if anyone has posted anything on the Internet.

inkkognito

Onlyifyouwanttowillyoufin daway-Enya
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.barbnefer.com
I too would be very leery. Examiner required a background check, but they don't do it until you have submitted an app, samples, talked to them on the phone, etc. I would never, ever give anyone that much information about myself out of the blue.

jeffo

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ober.org