Scenes from a table?

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com
I'm writing a scene that takes place at a dining room table. My guess is that none of the actors could have their backs to the audience. Is this right? I'm picturing the rectangular table to have the head at upstage centre and the foot of the table to be empty. All others at the sides. Would this be the optimal sitting arrangement?

Sorry. I'm completely new to this sort of thing. (-;

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net
Insolent of me to intrude, but I'd say that's the director's problem, I'd give a general description of who's at the table (and who's at the top, if needed) and leave it up to the experts to arrange the scene.

-Derek

KTC

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com
Insolent of me to intrude, but I'd say that's the director's problem, I'd give a general description of who's at the table (and who's at the top, if needed) and leave it up to the experts to arrange the scene.

-Derek

Not insolent at all, Derek! Thanks. I'm absolutely new at this and trying to figure out the limits of the playwright. I don't want to put in too much stage direction, but I don't want to put in too little. I'm afraid of crossing the line in either direction. Thanks for the insight. It helps much.

Doug B

Registered
Reaction score
dpaterson is right - leave it to the director.