Proper mourning practices in the old west??

franniescan

Exploring the Last Frontier
Registered
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I've got a WIP that involves a funeral scene with children. The family is a well to do family but they have just moved to Colorado Territory in the late 1850's when the first settlement of what is today's Colorado Springs was founded. They have a homestead, but I was curious to know how children would have been dressed for this scene? I'm attempting to find accurate information on this but all I have found is what women would wear and the practices they followed back then.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Puma

Retired and loving it!
Registered
Reaction score
Thoughts is all I can offer, Fran, because I have no precise knowledge. Thought 1 is to look for pictures from Lincoln's funeral, especially ones with the funeral train stopping in little cities. That's 15 years later, but might give some indications. Thought 2 is that folks didn't have extensive wardrobes back then and that children would have been dressed in their Sunday clothes whatever they were. Thought 3 is I think a lot of clothing was of somber colors anyway because of the limits of the dyes available away from the big cities. Hope those thoughts help. Puma

firedrake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I reckon Puma is right, the children would've worn their Sunday-go-to-Meeting clothes.

franniescan

Registered
Reaction score
Thank you Puma and Firedrake!

The thoughts were indeed helpful...especially the Lincoln idea...

Gary

Registered
Reaction score
I remember my dad telling me about his grandmother's funeral in the late teens...when he was a kid. Not exactly the old west, but the conditions were probably quite similar in rural North Dakota at that time.