Status
Not open for further replies.

DarkDesireX

I like tentacles!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ninasgooden.com
I've been working on articles with a company for a little while (a few months) and they liked my work so much that they asked me to work on their self help book. At first it was just articles as well so I wasn't too bothered but now they're offering me a chance to work on the entire book.

I'm by no means an established writer and working on this (it's not in the field I want to work, but a book is a book, right?) might be a plus to my career. It's a 100 page book with 300 words on each page, so a 30,000 word deal for $250. I don't know if this is good, bad, or even a sound idea so I thought I'd ask you guys before I accepted or didn't accept. I wouldn't be getting any credit for the book or anything like that but it's still experience, right?

Another question: Is this how "ghost writing" usually works anyway? I don't want my inexperience to cause me to be taken advantage of but I'm willing to work hard to get where I want to be --as long as it's a fair trade off for the effort.

qwerty

exiled Brit
Registered
Reaction score
When you say "work on" the book, do you mean actually write it? $250 for 30K words is not good pay. If you were getting royalties on each copy of the book sold, it would sound better.

If it's not the field you want to work in, you may be wise to consider putting that amount of work into writing and trying to sell the work you do want to become known for. With your name accredited to the work.

Wayne K

Banned
Reaction score
I've always looked at people with caution, so I would wonder if the person whose name is going to get the credit for the writing is using my work to gain credit for himself.

NeuroFizz

The grad students did it
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score