Finding your own voice...

Status
Not open for further replies.

James81

Great Scott Member
Registered
Reaction score
I am a writer, but moreso I am an avid reader.

The thing that I discover about being a writer who is an avid reader is that, for me, I notice that the more I read, the more my "voice" in my writing is influenced by what I've read. Especially if I read more than one book by a particular author.

It's almost like my own writing voice gets overshadowed by the voices of authors that I have read and it seeps out into my own writing.

My question: does this happen to any of you? Also, do you think it's wrong to let your writing mimic that which you have read?

I mean it almost seems like plaguerism to me (although I know it's not). It's like I'm not stealing words, but I am stealing "tone" and voice.

Is there a way to have my own distinct voice in writing without scaling back on reading? What ways do you "find your voice"?

MsK

Registered
Reaction score
In so many ways, who you are as a person is a result of the people you have been exposed to throughout your life, so it would stand to reason that your writing voice would be influenced by what you choose to read.
For sure, my voice is influenced by the writers I favor.
I tend to read a lot of first person and some of my favorites have more of an edge (swearing, blatant sexual talk) in their voice then I do (in my writing and in real life), and when I find myself headed in that direction with my writing, I pull back as it just isn't me.

tehuti88

Mackinac Island Fanatic
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.inkspot.com