J-School at the age of 30? Will it be worth it?

Crystal Lewis

Courageous Dreamer
Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am an aspiring writer who will be 30 years old in three weeks. When I started college at the age of 18, I wanted to study journalism, but I didn't have the confidence to compete with the other students for one of the limited available slots. I enrolled in other majors, but didn't experience the passion I feel when I write. This caused me to flunk out of college. I returned to an adult degree program at the age of 25 so that I could attend school at night. I have my Associate of Science in Business Administration and I will have a Bachelor's degree in business this summer. My goal when I went back to school was to get a four-year degree that would help me to enter PR so that I could parlay it into a writing career.

Now that I am older, more focused, and more confident of my abilities, I am thinking about going to J-School for a Master's degree to get some of the skills I lack. I have read that I don't need to go to Journalism school to become a respected writer, but I am worried that my lack of knowledge about the legal responsibilities and styles of writing will hold me back.

The problem is that I wouldn't be able to start attending classes until Fall of 2010 because the application deadline for this year has passed at most colleges. I am also worried that I might be a little too old to defer my career two more years. (I wouldn't graduate until the age of 32).

What do you think? Should I go and just continue to freelance while I'm there? Are there alternatives to J-School that might also help a dreamer like me?

Last edited:

jeffo

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ober.org